Selectmen's Office

The Board of Selectmen consists of five members - each elected for a three-year term.  They serve without compensation.  The Selectmen act as the primary policy-making body of the Town.  They provide oversight for matters in litigation, act as the licensing authority for a wide variety of licenses, conduct site plan reviews, and enact rules and regulations for such matters as traffic control.  Further, the Board  serves, along with the Town Treasurer, as Trustees of Town Trusts.  Staff in the Selectmen’s Office accept articles for Town Meeting, prepare Town Meeting Warrants and produce the Town’s Annual Report.  Staff also serve as liaison between the public and the Board, handle all phone calls, visitors and correspondence directed to the Office and maintain all records of Board of Selectmen’s meeting. They also maintain the database of all Boards and Committees appointments and resignations. 


Sudbury Candidates' Night Still Scheduled for Tonight!

Candidates in the contested races for Sudbury Public School Committee, the Planning Board and the Park & Recreation Commission will face off when the League of Women Voters of Sudbury sponsors its 57th annual Candidates’ Night Thursday, March 7.

The candidates in uncontested races for town offices and for the Lincoln-Sudbury Regional High School Committee will introduce themselves and discuss the position they are running for after the presentations for the contested races.

Candidates’ Night will be held at the Goodnow Library, 21 Concord Rd., in Sudbury. The program starts at 7:30 p.m., with coffee and a chance to meet the candidates at 7:15 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

The election is Monday, March 25, and polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Helen Marie Casey, a Sudbury League member and author, will be moderator.

The two candidates for the Sudbury Public School Committee seat are Matthew P. Barach and Scott B. Nassa. This committee oversees grades K-8. In the Planning Board race, three candidates are running for two seats. They are Peter Jon Abair, Craig G. Lizotte and Martin Joseph Long.

Two three-year terms on the Park & Recreation Commission are available, and three candidates are running for those seats. They are Paul Griffin, Richard C. Williamson and Michael T. Ensley. Griffin and Williamson are incumbents.

Robert C. Haarde is uncontested in his race to be re-elected as Selectman. Also uncontested are two seats on the Lincoln-Sudbury Regional District School Committee. Radha R. Gargeya and Kevin J. Matthews, both incumbents, are running for the high school committee seats.

For the Park & Recreation Commission, there are two two-year terms to be filled this year in addition to the two three-year terms. Running uncontested to fill the two-year terms are Robert C. Beagan, an incumbent, and James J. Marotta.

Other uncontested candidates for town offices are Trevor A. Haydon for Board of Assessors, Carol J. Bradford for Board of Health, Carol Hull and Sarah M. Sogigian for the two seats on the Goodnow Library Board of Trustees, and Lydia M. Pastuszek for Sudbury Housing Authority.

Audience members will be able to submit questions that evening in the contested races. Questions may also be submitted in advance by email to until 5 p.m. Wednesday, March 6.

Candidates’ Night will be shown live on Sudbury cable local access Channel 8 (Comcast) and Channel 31 (Verizon) and will be repeated several times before the election. The program will also be available on the station’s website,, as a video-on-demand option.

The League of Women Voters is a non-partisan organization and does not support or oppose any political party or candidate. Information about the Sudbury League is available at

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Email This Article Email this Article
Back to Selectmen's Office Back to Selectmen's Office

Contact Staff & Committee Members Contact Search
Subscribe Subscribe to Email Lists