Selectmen's Office

The Board of Selectmen consists of five members - each elected for a three-year term.  They serve without compensation.  The Selectmen act as the primary policy-making body of the Town.  They provide oversight for matters in litigation, act as the licensing authority for a wide variety of licenses, conduct site plan reviews, and enact rules and regulations for such matters as traffic control.  Further, the Board  serves, along with the Town Treasurer, as Trustees of Town Trusts.  Staff in the Selectmen’s Office accept articles for Town Meeting, prepare Town Meeting Warrants and produce the Town’s Annual Report.  Staff also serve as liaison between the public and the Board, handle all phone calls, visitors and correspondence directed to the Office and maintain all records of Board of Selectmen’s meeting. They also maintain the database of all Boards and Committees appointments and resignations. 


Several Town Offices Following Summer Schedule

Town Manager Maureen Valente announced that many offices will again be following a summer schedule of work hours for a four-day compressed workweek this August. Employees will work the same number of hours each week by working extended hours Monday through Thursday.

The revised schedule will begin Monday, August 4, 2014, and will only affect offices in Town Hall and the Flynn Building, and the Conservation Office in the DPW Building. All offices in these two buildings will be closed on Friday, August 8, 15, 22, 29. Offices will be open to serve the public as follows: Monday, Wednesday and Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Tuesday from 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. - Friday closed. Currently, most of the offices in these buildings open for business at 8:30 a.m. and close to the public at 4:00 p.m.   

The following Town departments will be following this compressed schedule:

  • Assessor
  • Human Resources
  • Planning and Community Development                               
  • Selectmen/Town Manager
  • Tax Collector/Treasurer                             
  • Town Accountant
  • Town Clerk                                    
  • Conservation (only office in DPW building following this schedule)

The following offices will NOT be observing the summer schedule and will be operating on regular hours:  Atkinson Pool, Board of Health, Building Department, Council on Aging, Engineering, Fire Department, Goodnow Library, Highway Department, Police Department and Recreation Department. 

All offices will return to their regular Monday - Friday schedule beginning Tuesday, September 2, the day after Labor Day.







Thursday, August 7, 2014

Email This Article Email this Article
Back to Selectmen's Office Back to Selectmen's Office

Contact Staff & Committee Members Contact Search
Subscribe Subscribe to Email Lists